Site map

Ireland puts Georgia on the list of secure countries


The Ministry of Justice of Ireland has decided to put Georgia on the list of secure countries. The decision of the Ireland government came into force on April 16. 

In doing so, Ireland becomes the ninth EU country out of 12 classifying countries according to their security level which have decided to consider Georgia as a secure country. 

Other countries who have already recognised Georgia as a secure country are Luxembourg, Belgium, Netherlands, France, Bulgaria, Austria, Liechtenstein, and Iceland.

"As a result of this decision applications for refugee status in Ireland by Georgian citizens will be reviewed in accelerated mode”, reads the statement released by the Georgian foreign ministry.

  The Project is funded
by the European
The Project is implemented
by the International
Organization for Migration