Site map

Belarus introduces five-day visa-free regime for citizens of 80 countries


On 9 January, President of Belarus signed the decree “On the introduction of visa-free entry and departure for foreign citizens”. The document introduces visa-free entry through the border checkpoint at the Minsk National Airport and the visa-free stay in Belarus for up to 5 days for citizens of 80 states. These are 39 countries of Europe, including the entire European Union, Brazil, Indonesia, the USA, Japan, and other countries. First of all, these are favorable countries in terms of migration, Belarus’s strategic partners which have introduced visa-free regimes for Belarusian citizens on a unilateral basis. New regulations also apply to the non-citizens of Latvia and stateless persons of Estonia.

The document aims to raise the number of business trips, tourist and private visits of persons with regular passports and will not apply to foreigners on official trips with diplomatic, service, special and similar passports. A valid passport or other document permitting traveling abroad, the respective amount of money, medical insurance of at least Euro 10,000 will be required for visa-free entry.

The visa-free regime does not apply to persons arriving to Belarus by plane from Russia and planning to depart to the airports of Russia (these are internal flights with no border control). The decree will enter into force in one month after its official publication.

  The Project is funded
by the European
The Project is implemented
by the International
Organization for Migration