Site map

EU supports better cooperation in the Black Sea region


The European Union maritime boundaries reached the shores of the Black Sea in 2007 with the accession of Bulgaria and Romania. In the same year, the EU launched the Black Sea Synergy initiative for developing better regional cooperation involving Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Romania, the Republic of Moldova, the Russian Federation, Turkey and Ukraine.

As a milestone for the initiative, the EU released the third implementation report that assesses the impact of the work done in the wider Black Sea region between 2015 and 2018.

According to the report, over recent years the countries bordering the Black Sea have become increasingly interested in working on maritime affairs, with particular focus on blue growth, marine research and innovation, and preservation of their marine environment. The 2018 Burgas declaration "Towards a Common Maritime Agenda for the Black Sea" and the 2018 Vision Paper for marine research and innovation are significant milestones that paved the way for more structured and pragmatic cooperation based on mutual priorities.

Further on, the Black Sea countries are now also committed to establishing better cooperation between each other, notably in the areas of environment protection, cross-border cooperation, research and innovation as well as engaging with the civil society.

  The Project is funded
by the European
The Project is implemented
by the International
Organization for Migration