EU closes Schengen borders for 30 days

All Schengen Area Member States have approved a plan proposed by the European Commission which foresees the closure of the external borders of the territory, for at least a period of 30 days, as the most extreme measure taken by the block to halt the further spreading of the COVID-19.

The final move was announced earlier in a press conference of the President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen, and the president of the European Council Charles Michel, who explained that all borders would be closed for a period of 30 days for all non-essential travel.

The travel ban will affect all non-EU nationals from visiting the Schengen zone, except long-term residents, family members of EU nationals and diplomats, cross-border and healthcare workers, and people transporting goods.

Subscribe to newsletter Eastern Partnership on Migration, Mobility, and Integrated Border Management News Digest The most important migration news delivered monthly to your mailbox. Please enter your valid e-mail address to subscribe